The Mesothelioma Scholarship Initiative 2021-2022 Winners

Mesothelioma Hub is pleased to announce the winners of the inaugural Mesothelioma Scholarship Initiative. This scholarship opportunity was open to students currently enrolled in a two-year or four-year college, university, or trade school in the United States. The goal of this program was to raise awareness about the dangers of mesothelioma and highlight its far-reaching consequences.

Although mesothelioma is often looked at as a disease that only affects the elderly, people often forget that younger individuals, like family and friends, also suffer from the consequences of mesothelioma. That’s why in an effort to reach a wider audience, we asked college students to submit essays that either promoted mesothelioma awareness, highlighted a personal experience, or demonstrated relevant information about the causes or risk factors of mesothelioma. This resulted in many qualified applicants with compelling essays, but there could only be one $1,000 winner.

Grand Prize Scholarship Winner

This is an image of Kerry Fracasso.

1st Place Winner: Kerry Fracasso

Kerry Fracasso is the winner of the first annual Mesothelioma Scholarship Initiative. Fracasso will attend the University of Connecticut to pursue a Bachelor of Science in Mathematics and Physics. Fracasso’s first-place essay focused on the harsh realities of occupational exposure and its long-term consequences. We were touched by his personal experience and couldn’t be happier to award Fracasso this first-place award.

Consolation Winners

This is an image of Juhi Mehta.

2nd Place Winner: Juhi Mehta

Juhi Mehta is our second-place winner with an essay about preventing mesothelioma, searching for treatment at a medical center, and recognizing the risks and symptoms of being exposed to asbestos. Mehta’s essay was insightful, covering the topic of mesothelioma in great detail. Mehta will attend the University of Central Florida where she will continue her academic passions.

This is an image of Micah Eastwood.

3rd Place Winner: Micah Eastwood

Micah Eastwood is the third-place winner of the annual Mesothelioma Scholarship Initiative. Eastwood’s essay touched on the devastating impact of mesothelioma and the treatments used to fight this fatal illness. His article was a thorough review of malignant mesothelioma and the consequences of this fatal and preventable cancer. Eastwood will attend Brigham Young University; we wish him the best of luck in his education.

Fall 2022 – Spring 2023 Scholarships

Information on the 2023 Mesothelioma Hub Scholarship will be available in the fall. Stay tuned for details and essay prompts. In the meantime, utilize the following free websites which help students across the nation find high-quality scholarships. Remember, you should never pay to apply for a scholarship so use caution when researching opportunities online.

Mesothelioma Support Team

Mesothelioma Hub is dedicated to helping you find information, support, and advice. Reach out any time!